Thanks Karma

Today didn’t start off too hot today.  I woke up for work, already late.  I was walking down the stairs and slipped, landed on my behind, and enjoyed a ride down the stairs on my hindquarters.  Ouch.  My wife slipped down the stairs a few weeks ago.  I couldn’t help but laugh at her a  little.  Karma came back to get me.  I’m just trying to be a better person.  My name is Earl. 

Last night’s Yankee victory was a big one.  They bounced back from the crushing defeat the night before.  Mike Mussina is stepping up and staking a claim to be a staff ace.  He is definitely deserving of the title considering Randy Johnson’s last few outings.  Moose looked shaky early, but settled down and brought us home the W.  Moose has been kicking tail all year long.  They put up Mussina’s career stats along side Schilling’s before the game yesterday and I was surprised to see that Moose has arguably had a better career than Schill.  Moose has quietly put up a pretty solid career.  230 career wins with an ERA of 3.62.  Not bad for a guy that’s never won 20 games or the Cy Young.  This could be the year.  The Year of the Moose.

Our "third baseman" reacted well to King George’s comments.  2 for 4 with a big dinger.  But I can’t fault King George for thinking that Alex has been stinking up the joint.  Alex gets paid a lot of money to perform.  I can certainly understand why people think A-Rod is over-rated.  He has tremendous talent and is certainly headed to Cooperstown, but he always seems to come up short in big spots.  King George expects a lot of Alex.  Yankee fans expect a lot of Alex.  Alex expects a lot of Alex.  He knows he’s been sub-par as a Yankee.  Many Yankee fans still don’t consider A-Rod to be a true "Yankee,"  saying he hasn’t earned his pinstripes.  Even with his MVP award in 2005, I agree that to date he’s been on the whole, a bust.  King George’s comments may be just the kick in the pants that A-Rod needs.  I hope yesterday’s game is a sign of what’s to come.  We want to give you your stripes Alex, we really do.

I know many of us Yankee fans were calling for Scott Proctor to get a 1-way ticket to Columbus at the beginning of the season, myself included.  With each performance, Proctor has been silencing more and more of his critics.  Proctor has been huge for the Yankee bullpen this year.  12 hits in almost 22 IPs.  Many of his outings have been for more than an inning.  He’s come in and kept the Yankees in the game when the starter has failed.  You can tell Torre is gaining confidence in Proctor.  He’s coming in and holding his own.  He’s definitely earning his spot in the pen.  Sturtze is definitely the bullpen’s weakest link.  I’d be shocked if he stays on the roster after Pavano and Dotel.  I wouldn’t be surprised if Torre keeps Proctor around.  He’s earned the opportunity.

Tonight, the Yankees look to Shawn Chacon to give the Yanks the series win.  It’s a pretty even pitching matchup.  The Yankees have always "struggled" with Wakefield.  Chacon needs to keep the Sox bats at bay and the Yankee offense needs to give Chacon some run support.  Unfortunately, I’m going to miss the game.  I’ve got concert tickets.  Going to see Sam Roberts.  He’s from Canadia.  Spelling error was intentional.  With any luck, the game will rain out, and then I won’t miss it.  I’m probably the only one who wants that.  If they do play, enjoy the game.  I’ll look forward to reading everyone’s blog to get their thoughts.

Big thanks to Dave for bringing us home the victory yesterday and keeping his streak going.  3 games with a win, 3 games with a Giambi HR.  Anyone want to pitch in and get him some season tickets?   

J

3 comments

  1. Arielle

    So basically J, you need to liveblog again tonight in order to bring the Sox luck. And I need to hang out here while you are liveblogging. Plus, Dave is not allowed to go to Yankees games when they are playing the Sox anymore. His streak is crazy!

    I’m amazed that you managed to read the whole conversation. I swear she told me to put it up there. And I have my IM set so that if I don’t know someone, it asks me first if I want to talk to them, so not everyone can IM me.

    I’ve never heard of Sam Roberts, which is strange because I’m really into music. But I call Canada Canadia too. My brother hates the Canadians (he’s a huge Bruins fan) and so he lets anyone who’s Canadian hear it. (in a good-natured sort of way . . . ish)

    Hoping for a game tonight

    -A

  2. Reid

    Year of the Moose. There’s a good one. I caught the game (through the 5th, anyway) at home last night with the Pops, on ESPNHD. The ESPN announcers made me miss MLB.TV. Anyway, Dad’s not a big baseball fan, so it was fun explaining ‘Mooooose’ and that kind of stuff to him. I also told him I want to get to Yankee Stadium soon. Let’s see if Dad has the heart to send me there, haha.

    -Reid

    http://reid.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment